The Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs has confirmed all the immediate past service chiefs as ambassadors. The nominees were screened for the position of non-career ambassadors.

They include the former Chief of Defence Staff, Gabriel Olonisakin; former Chief of Army Staff, Tukur Buratai; former Chief of Air Staff, Ibok Ibas; and former Chief of Naval Staff, Abubakar Sadique.

The president’s media aide, Bashir Ahmad in a tweet confirmed the development stating that “Three weeks after they were nominated by President Muhammadu Buhari, the Senate has confirmed the immediate past Service Chiefs as non-career ambassadors”

Recall that their appointment by President Buhari had been trailed by condemnation, with many Nigerians saying that the president’s decision was aimed at shielding the former military officials from possible prosecution, especially by the International Court of Justice (ICJ).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Lam-Adesina Rejoins APC, Completes Membership Registration

Barely three years after he left the All Progressives Congress, APC, for the African Democ…