UK Prime Minister Boris Johnson has left out Nigeria from a list of 30 countries that have been banned from entering the United Kingdom over rising COVID-19 cases.

Announcing the measure while addressing members of parliament, Johnson said that the tougher new rules would apply to travellers from “red list countries where we have particular concern about new variants.”

This new virus strains which the UK is wary about include such as B.1.1.7 found in the UK, B.1.351 discovered in South Africa, and P.1 variant identified in Brazil.

Also, a statement on the government’s website, stated that nationals from 30 countries, some of which are in South America and Southern Africa, will be banned from entering the country.

The list also does not include British and Irish nationals or others who possess resident visas.

The UK is one of the top five worst-hit countries with COVID-19. It has over 3.7 million cases and more than 100,000 deaths.

The affected countries include Angola, Argentina, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Cape Verde, Chile, Colombia, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ecuador, and Eswatini.

Others are French Guiana, Guyana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal (including Madeira and the Azores), Seychelles, South Africa, Suriname, Tanzania, Uruguay, Venezuela, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Former Rivers APC Chairman Resigns

The former Caretaker Committee Chairman of the All Progressives Congress in Rivers State, …